This Census Taker — the next novel by China Miéville!

cmRandom House is listing a new China Miéville novel for January 2016, titled This Census Taker. What a weird title! There’s nearly no information about this book, other than the fact that it’s somewhere in the range of 208 pages (early page counts are never exact), and that it apparently comes under the genres “contemporary fantasy” and “literary fiction”.

I guess for now we can all try to guess what the book might be about. Perhaps a census taker who discovers something out of this world during his/her rounds?

UPDATE: There’s now jacket copy on the Penguin Random House website! It reads as follows:

For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, and Karen Russell, This Census Taker is the poignant and uncanny new novella from award-winning and bestselling author China Miéville. After witnessing a profoundly traumatic event, a boy is left alone in a remote house on a hilltop with his increasingly deranged parent. When a stranger knocks on his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation are over—but by what authority does this man keep the meticulous records he carries? Is he the boy’s friend? His enemy? Or something altogether other?

UPDATE 2: Pan Macmillan has it too, for UK/Commonwealth publication in February 2016. Also, the Random House product page (linked at the top of this post) has a more expanded jacket description now.

UPDATE 3: Check out the US cover art!

Advertisements

3 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s